Call : 786-539-4935
Click Here to Email Us:

Family Court Requirement to Complete a Parenting Class (Parenting Education and Family Stabilization Course)

June 15, 2015 by  
Filed under Uncategorized

Pursuant to Florida Statute Section 61.21 and Miami-Dade County Administrative Order 14-05 all parties to a dissolution of marriage proceeding with minor children or a paternity action that involves issues of parental responsibility shall be required to complete the parenting course prior to the entry of a final judgment by the Court. Additionally, all parties to a modification of a final judgment action  involving a parenting plan or a time-sharing schedule may be required to complete a Parenting Course prior to the entry of an order modifying the final judgment.

All parties are required to begin a Parenting Course as expeditiously as possible.  In dissolution of marriage actions with minor children: (1) Unless excused by the Court, the Petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after the filing of the petition. (2) All other parties must complete the course within 45 days after service of the petition.  

In paternity actions: (1) Unless excused by the Court, the Petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after the filing of the petition. (2) Any other party must complete the course within 45 days after an acknowledgment of paternity by the party, an adjudication of paternity of the party, or an order granting time-sharing to or support from the party.

Prior to the entry of the final judgment, all parties are required to file proof of compliance of completion of the Parenting Course with the Clerk of the Court.

The Court may excuse a party from attending the Parenting Course, or from completing the Parenting Course within the required time, for good cause shown.

The Court may hold any parent who fails to attend a required Parenting Course in contempt, or that parent may be denied shared parental responsibility or time-sharing, or otherwise sanctioned as the Court deems appropriate.

The Court may, without motion of either party, prohibit the parties from taking the Parenting Course together, if there is a history of domestic violence between the parties.

The Parenting Class is offered on-line: 

http://www.floridaparentingclass.com/

http://www.flaparent.com/

http://www.parentingchoice.com/

You can also complete the class on-line or in person at the various Miami-Dade College campuses.

While there used to be a requirement in Miami-Dade County that children between 6 and 17 take a course themselves there is no longer such a requirement.

Comments

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!





*

Disclaimer: The Law Offices of Robert Hanreck, P.A. is based in Miami , Florida and serves clients throughout the State including Miami-Dade and Broward counties. We are licensed to practice law in the State of Florida. This website is intended for informational purposes only and is not meant to constitute legal advice, or solicit clients outside of the State of Florida.